Botswana Brief

 Botswana in brief
Area: 581 730 km² - Botswana borders South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe and Zambia.
Population: 2 024 904 (2011 Population Census)
Capital City: Gaborone
Other major towns: Francistown, Lobatse, Selibe Phikwe, Jwaneng, Orapa
Form of Government: Parliamentary Republic
Independence: 30 September 1966 (from UK).
Head of State: President Mokgweetsi Eric Keabetswe Masisi
Adult Literacy Rate: 82% as per World Bank Report
National Language: Setswana
Official Language: English
Nationality: Motswana (singular.), Batswana (plural.)
Geography: Southern Africa
Time: GMT plus 2 hours
Borders: South Africa, Zimbabwe, Namibia and Zambia
GDP: (4.3% 2016) USD 15.6 billion (2016)
Real GDP per Capita: USD 7,019 (2016)
Inflation: (2.8% Av 2016), 3.4 % April 2017
Interest Rates: Bank rate 5.5%: Prime rate 7.5% 2017
Terrain: Desert and savanna, predominantly flat to gently rolling table
Climate: Mostly subtropical, with warm winters and hot summers. Summer months – December to March and winter months – May to August.
Dialling code: +267 - followed by a local number
Currency: Botswana currency is the Pula. One (1) Pula is made up of 100 Thebes. Notes are: P200.00, P100.00, P50.00, P20.00, P10.00 and coins are P5.00, P2.00, P1.00, 50thebe, 25thebe, 10thebe and 5thebe.

International Diplomatic representation: Botswana has representation in Brazil, United Kingdom, China, Ethiopia, Germany, India, Japan, Kenya, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Sweden, United States of America, Zambia, Zimbabwe and Kuwait.